Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: News

Community Foundation of Henderson County Awards $471,700 in Scholarships in 2017-18 Academic Year

Tuesday, June 13, 2017  
Share |

Hendersonville, N.C., June 12, 2017: Community Foundation of Henderson County (CFHC) fulfilled dreams by awarding local students 229 scholarships totaling $471,700 for the 2017-2018 academic year.


This year alone, CFHC awarded 94 new scholarships totaling $176,550 and 135 renewal scholarships totaling $295,150. Since the inception of the Community Foundation’s scholarship program in 1984, more than 1,294 students have received assistance.


Academic scholarships are available to students pursuing community college, technical school or traditional university degrees. Donors have established funds which provide annual scholarships, each unique in its eligibility requirements. Scholarships range in award amounts and are generally categorized by financial need, academics, affiliation, academic field and place of study. Many of the scholarships are eligible for renewal. Thanks to the selfless generosity of numerous donors, more than $5.6 million in scholarships has been awarded since 1984.


“Many of the people in this community set up a scholarship because they want to provide assistance and support for future generations,” said McCray Benson, President/CEO of the Community Foundation. “Donors want to help students make a better life for themselves, and they believe that education is the key to success.”


Additional information about applying for scholarships can be found on CFHC’s website: Contact Donor Services Manager, Wendy Hamil at (828) 697-6224 for information about setting up a scholarship. 


Since its founding in 1982, Community Foundation of Henderson County has been helping people who care make lasting contributions to causes that matter. The Community Foundation accepts gifts from individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create a pool of charitable dollars from which grants are awarded to address community needs.


This past fiscal year, Community Foundation of Henderson County accrued $87.69 million in assets, received more than $4.42 million in new charitable contributions and awarded $2.96 million in grants to nonprofit organizations and scholarship recipients. Learn more about Community Foundation of Henderson County at, at CFHC’s Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn pages, and by calling (828) 697-6224.


Students awarded scholarship assistance for the 2017-2018 academic year:

Student Name

Fund Name

Michael Bowen

American Legion, Post 77, Hubert M. Smith

Jessica Reynolds

Pisgah Chpt.Trout Unlimited- William L. Arbuckle

Silas Sitton

William C. Armstrong

Meghan Reid

Dan Barber, III/Western Auto Award *

Nya Waters

Bright Futures Scholarship Fund

Amy Uriostegui

Business & Professional Women's Club

Adam Jones

Jay & Linda Casselberry

Kelly Heatherly

Betsy Copolillo and Sam Gash

Kayleigh Hubert

The Amy Duryee Courtenay

Samuel Staton

John T. Coates IV Civil Engineering

Samuel Staton

David and Betty Bucher Engineering

Jessica Buckner

David and Betty Bucher Nursing

Cady Suddeth

Denis Barton

Cameron Hyder

Rita Ildsgaard Dunk Music

Alessandrea King

Ray V. Dunk Accounting

Sophia Cruz Ostafin

Kermit Edney

Harper Swing

Robert C. Edwards, Jr. Memorial

Jose Diaz

Robert & Vivian Edwards

Jennifer Burns

Grace B. Etheredge

Elizabeth Duncan

H. Louise Eaton

Sheridan Mentch

Dr. Hugh and Madge Gleaton Scholarship Fund

Natalie Mendoza

James P. Grey Trust

Jordan Moreno

James P. Grey Trust

Taylor-Jax Noble

Maude and Harvey Goehring

Jennah Sekaz

Haddy Harrington Memorial

Ethan Burns

John Brooks Williams Memorial

Jasmine Mills

John Brooks Williams Memorial

Krystal Fischer

Arthur R. Hill Memorial

John Vanhoy

Joe T. Hunt Memorial

Tasha Hartzfeld

Hendersonville Woman's Club

Matthew Witte

Elsie Mabel Jones

Nya Waters

Chat Jones Memorial Scholarship Fund

Kaelah Avery

Anthony Kushigian (Normac )

Dhuru Patel

Ethel T. & Charles T. Larus Educational

Annabelle Webb

Ethel T. & Charles T. Larus Educational

Dylan Cruz

Helen Lindner

Mikaela Cox

Passage to the Future Scholarship Fund

Santiago Osornio

Peggy Lovvorn

Annabelle Cram

Mary Evelyn & Harry Laurent

Evan Goff

Mary Evelyn & Harry Laurent

Justin Gonzalez

Mary Evelyn & Harry Laurent

Cheyenne McCall

George F. and Asha W. McMillan

LaKerrion Lammons

Lucile V. Means

Samantha Wilkie

Fredrick E. Meyer

Fernanda Paniagua

Ralph A. Milliman

Victoria Renfroe

Ralph A. Milliman

McKayla Cantrell

Bree Elizabeth Miller Memorial

Fernando Ordonez

Sam A. Mills Memorial

Mackenzie Green

Clyde T and Wilma G Moore

Anna Morrison

Glenn C. Marlow

James Burnette

Mills River Fire Department

Grayson Marshall

Matching Scholarship

Sarah Hill

Thomas Oliver & Louise Jordan Mulcahy

Emily Johnson

Thomas Oliver & Louise Jordan Mulcahy

Sofia Molina

Thomas Oliver & Louise Jordan Mulcahy

Colton Morgan

Thomas Oliver & Louise Jordan Mulcahy

Alex Ramirez

Nagel Scholarship

Sandra Zepeda

Hilary G. Neighbors (GENERAL)

Alliyah Telesford

Helga Nielsen

Kailin Wiley

Helga Nielsen

Gianna Gerard

Rebecca S. Poole

Katelyn Flowers

L.B. Prince Memorial

Megan Huth

John Paul Raywood

James Gash III

Plato E. Reese Memorial

Andrew Eudy

Charlie Renfrow Trust

Laura Rice

Vena Case Robinson Memorial

Elizabeth Serrano

Odell Rouse Memorial

Blaine Sharpe

Odell Rouse Memorial

Meredith Kraus

Russell Boyd Thomas Scholarship Fund

Julianna Jaehn

Vina L. & Richard C. Sauer

Jasen Sanchez

Vina L. & Richard C. Sauer

Kaley Cross

Martha Sales Schoch

Savannah Beddingfield

John and Mary Jane Swanson for BRCC

Michelle Johnson

Gibbs Family

Elizabeth O'Donnell

Pat Shepherd Second Mile

Victoria Escobar

Kristen Sue Shetterly Memorial

Brittany Villasana

Arthur and Lois Jean Stuenkel

Nathanael Lemmens

George and Helen Stowell Trust (GENERAL)

Claudia Martin

George and Helen Stowell Trust (MEDICAL)

Robert Hinchliffe

Kenneth R. Stull and Virginia M. Stull

Nicholas Jones

Henderson County Educational

Sarah Gyenes

Robert Tonjes Scholarship

Brittany Villasana

Tracy Grove Community Club

Taylor-Jax Noble

VFW Hedrick Rhodes Post 5206

Alex Salvaggio

Dr. Corbin O. Williams Memorial

Caleb Williamson

Lula and Levi Wilson

Michael Bowen

Tom Wilson

Kaitlyn Bennett

John P. and Mary Ann Wold Scholarship Fund

Matthew Duncan

John P. and Mary Ann Wold Scholarship Fund

Kristopher Elrod

John P. and Mary Ann Wold Scholarship Fund

Allyson Garren

John P. and Mary Ann Wold Scholarship Fund

Annabelle Webb

Gregory Stephen Wright "Crossroads"

James Morrison

Winifred M. Wyman Memorial

Melchor Ornelas

Maria's Scholarship Fund


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal